>Ain’t I lucky? Post 24

>

Yesterday when I got home after work I found my MIL busy in the kitchen. She always is and one more person having a blast other than Aman and me is my cook. He comes, looks around, and finding nothing much to do, cuts some salads and fruits and leaves.

Coming back to yesterday – she was cooking Arbi (Also known as Taro, picture below for ref). This is a very popular north Indian vegetable. Both Aman and I are very fond of it. Aman likes the dry version and I like the gravy version better. Arbi is not easily available in Bangalore and so she brought a kilogram or so of it all the way from Punjab. Really sweet of her!! So first time she made the dry version and I casually commented that I like the gravy one more.

Now yesterday, when I entered the kitchen, I saw her making both types of Arbi. On one burner was the type Aman likes and on the other side was how I like it.

I asked her why she was doing it and she said because that’s how I like it. I was touched beyond words. Really, which MIL will go all the way and do something like this. Didn’t I say I am blessed?

TOUCHWOOD!!

This entry was posted in NabloPoMo. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to >Ain’t I lucky? Post 24

  1. Swaram says:

    >Ohh u r blessed 🙂 My MIL used to make 2 versions of chutney bcoz I liked the spicier version and Su used to never hv anything with some extra chillies 🙂 Remembering these good things takes us a long way in life no 🙂

  2. >Yes you are 🙂 I just dropped by and went through many of your recent posts. I agree, it's great to stay away from one's home town, one learns about the place the way no books can teach!

  3. Monika says:

    >awwwww so sweet of her really, arbi is my fav too 🙂 and its easily available this side its a regular at our house

  4. >Wowwww Arbi is my fav too!! And thats really sweet of her to do that 🙂 I can imagine how touched u must be! 🙂 I love some of my MIL's gestures too… its damn sweet the way she forces a glass of milk down my throat when i am late for work 🙂

  5. >Wowwww Arbi is my fav too!! And thats really sweet of her to do that 🙂 I can imagine how touched u must be! 🙂 I love some of my MIL's gestures too… its damn sweet the way she forces a glass of milk down my throat when i am late for work 🙂

  6. Iya says:

    >@ Swaram – how sweet!!@ IHM – thanks, yes u r right, nothing equals exposure…@ Monika – really, will come veggie shopping to that side of the town..@ Worldthumyeyes – i know, its amazing right?

  7. ~anu~ says:

    >mast aish ho raha hai tumhara.. i love arbi too.. call it arvi though. and i love both the preparations 🙂 i feel like having arvi. tum aunty se seekh lena ok.. LIT and arvi when i come back 😉

  8. Iya says:

    >Anu – only u can think of having Arbi and LIT together.. when are u reaching here by the way?

  9. Ekta says:

    >I love it too… the dry version more:) your post reminds me of my MIL… She too does some wonderful things and pampered me the most during my pregnancy days!

  10. Pinku says:

    >i love arbi too…though I will side with Aman and go with the dry version…when is aunty due back in punjab?? maybe I can go over :)u sure are lucky…no two ways about it.

  11. Iya says:

    >@ Ekta – i know, wonder why people crib so much about MIL's@ Pinku – u shud surely taste her creation.. she is a awesome cook..

Leave a Reply

