Let’s wish my mom a very happy birthday – Post 11

It is Mom’s birthday today. With the exception of last year, I haven’t been with her on her birthday since 2003. These are moments when life truly sucks and when nothing makes sense. These are moments when I wonder what I am after. What do I really want in life? If I am headed in completely wrong direction?

I really do want to live closer to my folks. Somewhere where I can see them and meet them regularly. And that was the plan while we were still in Bangalore. We had plans of moving to Delhi or NCR to be closer to both mine as well as Aman’s family. And as luck had it and with the turn of events, we landed here in Singapore. After having turned down multiple such relocating opportunities in the past, we shocked ourselves and people close to us by deciding to move to Singapore.

If you ask me, I wouldn’t be able to pinpoint as to why we decided to move here. It was like we spoke about it at dinner table and then slept on the idea. Next morning when both of us woke up we knew that the decision had been made and that we would be moving to Singapore. I guess it was destined. We plan to live here for a while before heading back to India to be closer to folks. That’s the thought I have in mind but planning too much in advance has never worked for us before so we will take things as they come.

So its mom’s special day today and although she is acting very cool about it, I know she misses Neha, Aman and me. I know she recalls her last year’s birthday and smiles fondly at the fun we had. Such is my Mom, ever smiling, never complaining. She is expressive but in a super positive way. There is a longing in her conversations but she never cribs. She has never made us feel guilty for choices we have made, however right or wrong.  And this is one among the million reasons which make her so special.

So here is wishing mumma a very happy birthday! Love you!

This entry was posted in Mom Dad, NaBloPoMo2 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Let’s wish my mom a very happy birthday – Post 11

  1. Roop Rai says:

    Happpy birrday, iya’s mama!! You must be a fantastic lady for having raised a terrific girl. 😀

  2. Deeps says:

    A very Happy B’day to your mom, Iya! I’m sure she is a proud mom today for having raised such wonderful children 🙂

    A congratulations on the move to WP..welcome to the neighborhood 😀

    • Iya Bhatia Malhotra says:

      Thanks Deeps!! have left a lot of stuff back at blogger. will be time before this place becomes home 🙂

  3. Mumbai Diva says:

    a very happy birthday to her.

    that was a fast move to wp. will take tutorials from you perhaps later. I find wp very confusing 😦

    • Iya Bhatia Malhotra says:

      Same here Mumbai Diva. Trying hard. Spent a few hours this morning and at least was able to migrate the posts. now for other things 🙂

  4. Hi Iya, would you like to be a Power NRI for NRI Matters?
    See the website http://www.nrimatters.com and see http://www.nrimatters.com/power-nris

    you can contact me on mail.
    Regards,
    Pawan Kumar Sharma

  5. Swaram says:

    Happy birthday aunty 🙂 Celebrate there Iya and share those goodies with all of us too 🙂

  6. Tara says:

    Many wishes to your mum Iya. Life does seem unfair on such days.. but lets celebrate where we are and say cheers!

  7. Prathima says:

    Wishes to your mom..May be you can have a virtual celebrations;)

  8. a very very happy budday to aunty…:)…

  9. Rashmi says:

    Happy Bday Iya’s darling mom..May you have wonderful year ahead with lot of time with your daughter 🙂

  10. nodding my head to everything u have written I hate staying in blore for this reason

  11. After achieving all the dreams like marketing manager for a firm like HUL or p&G, one headed back to his hometown ultimately.

    The most satisfactory of all the dreams is the one which we looked at last…..

    Hope your longing will vanish soon and mine too….

Leave a Reply

